Beethoven at the Ball Exhibition

Friday, May 20, 2022 11 am to 6 pm

+ 10 dates

  • Saturday, May 21, 2022 11 am to 6 pm
  • Monday, May 23, 2022 11 am to 6 pm
  • Tuesday, May 24, 2022 11 am to 6 pm
  • Wednesday, May 25, 2022 11 am to 6 pm
  • Thursday, May 26, 2022 11 am to 6 pm
  • Friday, May 27, 2022 11 am to 6 pm
  • Saturday, May 28, 2022 11 am to 6 pm
  • Monday, May 30, 2022 11 am to 6 pm
  • Tuesday, May 31, 2022 11 am to 6 pm
  • Wednesday, June 1, 2022 11 am to 6 pm

150 E San Fernando St, San Jose, CA 95112

https://www.sjsu.edu/beethoven/events/upcoming-events.php
View map

Vienna is famous for its balls, where waltzing couples whirl to the strains of Johann Strauss in lavish, glittering ballrooms. While the Victorian Era was the golden age of the waltz, Vienna’s public ball culture originated during Beethoven’s lifetime at the end of the eighteenth century. This exhibit explores the Viennese ball culture that Beethoven would have been familiar with, from the opening of the first public ballrooms, to the costumes and music, and the various dance forms that include the earliest forms of waltzing.