150 E San Fernando St, San Jose, CA 95112

View map

Local brass ensemble The Altos Brass conclude our season of Beethoven Noontime Concerts with a
program of J. S. Bach and Malcolm Arnold. J. S. Bach’s The Art of Fugue (ca. 1740–46) represents the
culmination of Bach’s interest in fugue—a musical form in which a whole piece of music is worked out
from a single theme, and which especially fascinated Beethoven, who composed many fugues
throughout his lifetime.

Rick Leder and David Adams, trumpets
Brian Holmes, horn
John Monroe, trombone 
Brent Herhold, tuba


Johann Sebastian Bach, selections from The Art of the Fugue. (BWV 1080)
Malcolm Arnold, Quintet for Brass No. 1, Op. 73 (1961)
      1.  Allegro vivace
      2.  Chaconne (Andante con moto)
      3.  Con brio

Each of the Beethoven Center’s Noontime Concerts features a short lecture and performance followed
by an informal coffee reception. These events are free – all are welcome!

Event Details

  • Curtis A Jones
  • Chris

2 people are interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity